Monday, 15 March 2021

The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner



The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner


What I loved:
* That cover. 😍😍
* The premise: a 17th century apothecary who helps women kill men who have wronged them.
* Themes of feminist rebellion and women taking control over their own lives.
* The historical mystery element and how this apothecary becomes connected to another woman hundreds of years later.
* Nella's character. She was the most interesting by far, and I almost wish there was more of her backstory in this novel.

However:
* The narrative voice for Nella felt exactly the same as it did for Eliza, and Eliza was only twelve whereas Nella was in her 40s.
* While I normally love dual timeline stories, I really wonder where this novel could have gone if it focused solely on Eliza and Nella. I felt like it could almost be a readalike for Magic Lessons by Alice Hoffman, but Caroline's present-day story kept inserting itself...
*I imagine many British historians would be green with envy at the ease with which Caroline's clues and research fell into place in a matter of days.

Ultimately, I would say I liked this novel, and I'm rating it 3.5 stars. I would probably encourage you to pick up a copy from the library rather than buying your own. I also hear the audiobook is great because it has three different narrators for the three women.

Thank you to Harper Collins Canada for sending a copy of The Lost Apothecary my way to review.
xo
Jenn

No comments:

Post a Comment

ShareThis