Sunday, 21 March 2021

The Dating Plan by Sara Desai

 


Last year, I read Sara Desai's debut, The Marriage Game, and I knew I had stumbled upon a new favourite romance author. You can read my review of The Marriage Game over here on Insta.

When Penguin Random House Canada asked me if I'd like to check out her new release, The Dating Plan, I couldn't say yes fast enough!

The Dating Plan is full of our favourite tropes: second chance romance, fake relationship, enemies to lovers, and weaves them all together in a fun and hilarious story. Liam was supposed to take Daisy to her prom when they were younger, but he unfortunately never shows. Daisy was heartbroken, and when they bump into each other at a conference ten years later, old wounds are exposed; however, a fake engagement may also be the answer to each of their current problems: Liam can fulfill a requirement for an inheritance and Daisy can get her meddling aunties off her back.

Full of the comedy, heart, and banter I remember from The Marriage Game, The Dating Plan was the perfect next instalment of this series. This is an emotional and heartwarming story where both characters learn from their mistakes and overcome obstacles from their pasts. If you're looking for your next feel-good, quirky, sexy romantic comedy, I can't recommend this one enough.

The Dating Game is also Canadian, #ownvoices, and full of women in STEM, and I am here for all of it! This was a four-star read for me, and if you're a Marvel fan, I bet you will enjoy it even more :)

Thank you again to Penguin Random House Canada for sending this copy my way. I am so excited to learn Sara Desai has another novel coming this November!

xo
Jenn

Monday, 15 March 2021

The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner



The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner


What I loved:
* That cover. 😍😍
* The premise: a 17th century apothecary who helps women kill men who have wronged them.
* Themes of feminist rebellion and women taking control over their own lives.
* The historical mystery element and how this apothecary becomes connected to another woman hundreds of years later.
* Nella's character. She was the most interesting by far, and I almost wish there was more of her backstory in this novel.

However:
* The narrative voice for Nella felt exactly the same as it did for Eliza, and Eliza was only twelve whereas Nella was in her 40s.
* While I normally love dual timeline stories, I really wonder where this novel could have gone if it focused solely on Eliza and Nella. I felt like it could almost be a readalike for Magic Lessons by Alice Hoffman, but Caroline's present-day story kept inserting itself...
*I imagine many British historians would be green with envy at the ease with which Caroline's clues and research fell into place in a matter of days.

Ultimately, I would say I liked this novel, and I'm rating it 3.5 stars. I would probably encourage you to pick up a copy from the library rather than buying your own. I also hear the audiobook is great because it has three different narrators for the three women.

Thank you to Harper Collins Canada for sending a copy of The Lost Apothecary my way to review.
xo
Jenn

Saturday, 6 March 2021

The Lion's Den by Katherine St. John

The Lion's Den by Katherine St. John was the exact book I needed this week. Scandalous and wicked, this book is simply fun to read. 


Belle is invited to join her best friend, Summer, for a week on a yacht with Summer's billionaire boyfriend; however, it doesn't take long for Belle to realize something is clearly up with this whole trip. Their passports are taken, they are locked in their rooms at night, and the days are filled with drama. Summer is hiding something, and Belle had better watch her back if she wants to make it off the boat alive.

This book took me entirely by surprise, and I loved it. I was proud of myself for figuring out one of the twists ahead of time, and I definitely did not see the second one coming, which made me enjoy it even more.

I don't want to say much more to avoid spoiling anything, but if you are looking for a juicy read to distract you from real life and transport you to the Mediterranean, The Lion's Den is it.

The Lion's Den recently released in paperback, and now I definitely can't wait to read Katherine St. John's new book coming in May, The Siren.

Thank you to Grand Central Publishing for sending this copy my way!

xo
Jenn

ShareThis