Friday, 3 June 2016

He Will Be My Ruin - Book Review




"My wrists burn.

Hours of trying to break free of the rope that binds my hands behind my back have left them raw, the rough cord scrubbing away my skin and cutting into my flesh. I'm sure I'll have unsightly scars.

Not that it will matter when I'm dead."


Death. Sex. Money. Power. That is how I would describe the major themes in K.A. Tucker's new book, He Will Be My Ruin.

Celine Gonzalez's death is labelled suicide. When her friend, Maggie, arrives to clean out her apartment and take care of her estate, a few things strike her as strange. Celine's cell phone is missing, there's cash hidden in secret boxes, and Maggie also discovers diaries that hold secrets no one could imagine. Maggie becomes more and more convinced that suicide just doesn't make sense.

But if it wasn't suicide what happened? Who was involved? Was it Grady, the dark haired superindentant with a sexy English accent? Jace Everett, the wealthy hedge fund manager with whom Celine may have been having an affair? Or someone else? Or was Celine just so overwhelmed with everything going on in her life that it was suicide?

Lisa Gardner, author of Alone, called this book "A smart, sexy thriller", and l completely agree. I devoured this book over the long weekend in May. The characters were all unique and interesting, and plot seriously kept me guessing until the very end.

The book is written primarily from Maggie's perspective, with a few of Celine's diary entries in between which is very effective because sometimes Celine tells the reader bits of information that Maggie doesn't yet know, adding to the suspense.

He Will Be My Ruin is perfect for readers who loved Gone Girl, The Silent Wife, or Girl on the Train. If you're in the mood for a good thriller, I highly recommend this book!

As an added bonus, I simply love finding new Canadian authors to read and support. This was my first K. A. Tucker book, and it won't be my last. Connect with her on her website, Facebook, and Twitter.

You can purchase He Will Be My Ruin here from Amazon and here from Chapters.

xo
Jenn

PS - For more of a teaser of what you can find in He Will Be My Ruin, watch the book trailer below.



Disclaimer – I received a copy of He Will Be My Ruin from TLC Book Tours in exchange for my review. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. To check out what other bloggers had to say about He Will Be My Ruin, here is the full book tour. Enjoy!

No comments:

Post a Comment

ShareThis